George Nemhauser wins the 2012 von Neumann Theory Prize

George Nemhauser is the winner the 2012 Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) John von Neumann Theory Prize. The prize will be presented at the meeting's award ceremony on October 14 at 8:30PM in Phoenix.

The John von Neumann Theory prize is awarded annually to a scholar (or scholars in the case of joint work) who has made fundamental, sustained contributions to theory in operations research and the management sciences. The award is given each year at the National Meeting.

The Prize is awarded for a body of work, typically published over a period of several years. Although recent work is not excluded, the Prize typically reflects contributions that have stood the test of time. The criteria for the Prize are broad, and include significance, innovation, depth, and scientific excellence.